1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Cannes Film Festival Palme d'Or Prize Winners


Cannes Film Festival Palme d'Or Prize Winners

Michael Haneke wins the "Palme d'Or" at the 2009 Cannes Film Festival.

Getty Images
A list of the winners of the festival's top prize through the years. Once known as the Grand Prix, from 1975 the top award has been the "Palme d'Or" or Golden Palm.

2010: Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives, Apichatpong Weerasethakul

2009: The White Ribbon, by Michael Haneke

2008: The Class, by Laurent Cantet

2007: 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days, by Cristian Mungiu

2006: The Wind That Shakes The Barley, by Ken Loach

2005: L'Enfant, by Jean-Pierre Dardenne

2004: Fahrenheit 9/11, by Michael Moore

2003: Elephant, by Gus Van Sant

2002: The Pianist, by Roman Polanski

2001: La Stanza del Figlio, by Nanni Moretti

2000: Dancer in the Dark, by Lars Von Trier

1999: Rosetta, by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne

1998: Eternity and a Day, by Theo Angelopoulos

1997: The Eel, by Shohei Imamura, Taste of Cherry, by Abbas Kiarostami

1996: Secrets & Lies, by Mike Leigh

1995: Underground, by Emir Kusturica

1994: Pulp Fiction, by Quentin Tarantino

1993: Farewell My Concubine, by Kaige Chen, The Piano, by Jane Campion

1992: The Best Intentions, by Bille August

1991: Barton Fink, by Joel and Ethan Coen

1990: Wild At Heart, by David Lynch

1989: Sex, Lies and Videotape, by Steven Soderbergh

1988: Pelle the Conqueror, by Bille August

1987: Under the Sun of Satan, by Maurice Pialat

1986: The Mission, by Roland Joffe

1985: When Father Was Away on Business, by Emir Kusturica

1984: Paris,Texas, by Wim Wenders

1983: The Ballad of Narayama, by Shohei Imamura

1982: Missing, by Costa-Gavras, Yol, by Yilmaz Guney

1981: Man of Iron, by Andrzej Wajda

1980: Kagemusha, by Akira Kurosawa, All That Jazz, by Bob Fosse

1979: Apocalypse Now, by Francis Ford Coppola, The Tin Drum, by Volker Schlondorff

1978: The Tree of Wooden Clogs, by Ermanno Olmi

1977: Padre Padrone, by Paolo Taviani

1976: Taxi Driver, by Martin Scorsese

1975: Chronique des Annees de Braise, by Mohammed Lakhdar-Hamina

1974: The Conversation, by Francis Ford Coppola, The Hireling, by Alan Bridges

1973: Scarecrow, by Jerry Schatzberg, The Mattei Affair, by Francesco Rosi

1972: The Working Class Goes to Heaven, by Elio Petri

1971: The Go-Between, by Joseph Losey

1970: M*A*S*H, by Robert Altman

1969: If, by Lindsay Anderson

1967: Blow-Up, by Michelangelo Antonioni

1966: Un Homme et Une Femme, by Claude Lelouch, Ces Messieurs Dames (Signore e signori), by Pietro Germi

1965: The Knack (...and How to Get It), by Richard Lester

1964: Les Parapluies de Cherbourg, by Jacques Demy

1963: The Leopard, by Luchino Visconti

1962: La Parole Donnee, by Anselmo Duarte

1961: Viridiana, by Luis Bunuel, Une Aussi Longue Absence, by Henri Colpi

1960: La Dolce Vita, by Federico Fellini

1959: Black Orpheus - Orfeu Negro - Criterion Collection DVD, by Marcel Camus

1958: The Cranes are Flying, by Mikhail Kalatoz

1957: Friendly Persuasion, by William Wyler

1956: Le Monde du Silence, by Jacques-Yves Cousteau and Louis Malle

1955: Marty, by Delbert Mann

1954: The Gate of Hell (Jigokumon), by Teinosuke Kinugasa

1953: The Wages of Fear, by Henri-Georges Clouzot

1952: Othello, by Orson Welles, Deux Sous d'Espoir, by Renato Castellani

1951: Miracle In Milan, by Vittorio de Sica, Mademoiselle Julie, by Alf Sjoberg

1949: The Third Man, by Carol Reed

1947: Six prizes including: Les Maudits, by Rene Clement, Ziegfeld Follies, by Vincente Minnelli, Dumbo, by Walt Disney

1946: 11 films shared the top prize, including: Open City, by Roberto Rossellini, Maria Candelaria, by Emilio Fernandez, Brief Encounter, by David Lean, The Lost Weekend, by Billy Wilder

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. World / Independent Film
  4. Foreign Film
  5. Cannes Film Festival Palme d'Or Prize Winners

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.